NEWSS Society Information

NEWSS Charter

The purposes of the Organization are to serve Northeastern States in:

  1. Bringing together those who are concerned with any phase of the knowledge of weeds and their control and providing for a meeting of these persons.
  2. Promoting a better understanding of the problems and the progress among those concerned with research and education in weeds and their control, those who are concerned with production of herbicides, and those who use cultural practices and chemicals for weed control.
  3. Publishing scientific and practical information of value concerning Weed Science and related fields.
  4. Cooperating with other Weed Control and/or Science Societies and the Weed Science Society of America.

Download the NEWSS Bylaws.

Return to top

NEWSS Membership

As presented in the NEWSS Bylaws updated October 14, 2010

Article III - Membership

Section 1.

The Membership of the Society shall be open to Individuals and Organizations of all Nations interested in the objectives of the Society. There shall be two types of Membership: (1) Active, and (2) Sustaining.

Section 2.

Active Members are Individuals who are interested in Weed Science and who have remitted their annual dues to the Society. Active Members may attend the Annual Meeting, hold office, vote on society issues, present papers on the Program, and will receive society news disseminated by the Executive Committee.

Section 3.

Sustaining Members shall consist of Manufacturers or Distributors of herbicides, Equipment Manufacturers or related Industries who contribute financially to the support of the Society. The names of such Members shall be printed in all issues of the Proceedings of the Society and in the Program Guide of the regular Meetings.

Return to top

2015 BOARD and COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Executive Committee (Board of Directors):
Officers:
Rakesh Chandran President 304-293-2603 rschandran@mail.wvu.edu
Shawn Askew President-Elect 540-231-5807 saskew@vt.edu
Randy Prostak Vice-President 413-577-1738 rprostak@umext.umass.edu
Erin Hitchner Treasurer 609-980-8832 erin.hitchner@syngenta.com
Greg Armel Past President 919-547-2674 gregory.armel@basf.com
Committee Members:
Sudeep Mathew Membership Chair 240-772-7514 sudeep.matthew@syngenta.com
Art Gover Editor 814-863-9904 aeg2@psu.edu
John Brewer Graduate Student Rep. 931-309-1682 jbrew10@vt.edu
Bryan Dillehay Research & Education 814-404-2683 bryan.dillehay@monsanto.com
John O'Barr Sustaining Membership 717-386-8259 john.obarr@basf.com
Todd Mervosh Public Relations 860-502-7765 tmervosh@att.net
Prasanta Bhowmik WSSA Representative 413-545-5223 pbhowmik@pssci.umass.edu
Randall Prostak CAST Representative 413-577-1738 rprostak@umext.umass.edu
Lee VanWychen Science Policy Director 202-408-5388 Lee.VanWychen@wssa.net
Program Committee: for 2016 meeting
Shawn Askew President-Elect 540-231-5807 saskew@vt.edu
Randy Prostak Vice President 413-577-1738 rprostak@umext.umass.edu
Agronomy Section
Wes Everman Chair 919-518-0488 wes_everman@ncsu.edu
John Willis Chair-Elect 937-418-5667 john.b.willis@monsanto.com
Vegetation Management and Restoration Section
Brett Hartis Chair 919-515-5648 bmhartis@ncsu.edu
Ornamentals Section
Todd Mervosh Chair 860-502-7765 tmervosh@att.net
Sali Barolli Chair-Elect 860-653-1509 saizba@yahoo.com
Poster Section
Barbara Scott Chair 302-856-2585 bascott@udel.edu
Michael Flessner Chair-Elect 540-315-2954 flessner@vt.edu
Turfgrass and Plant Growth Regulators Section
Katelyn Venner Chair katevenn@vt.edu
Alan Estes Chair-Elect 864-710-7904 aestes@pbigordon.com
Vegetables and Fruit Section
Katherine Ghantous Chair 508-295-2212 kghantou@psis.umass.edu
Jennifer D'Appollonio Chair-Elect 207-581-2924 jennifer.dappolino@maine.edu
Weed Biology and Ecology Section
Daniel Tekiela Chair 540-553-5471 tekiela2@vt.edu
Caroline Marschner Chair-Elect 607-255-4568 cam369@cornell.edu
Site Selection Committee
Shawn Askew President-Elect 540-231-5807 saskew@vt.edu
Rakesh Chandran President 304-293-2603 rschandran@mail.wvu.edu
Erin Hitchner Treasurer 609-980-8832 erin.hitchner@syngenta.com
Sudeep Mathew Membership Chair 240-772-7514 sudeep.matthew@syngenta.com
Awards Committee
Greg Armel Chair 919-547-2674 gregory.armel@basf.com
Dwight Lingenfelter 814-865-2242 DXL18@psu.edu
Antonio DiTommaso 607-254-4702 ad97@cornell.edu
Mark VanGessel 302-856-7303 mjv@udel.edu
Hilary Sandler 508-295-2212 ext 21 hsandler@umext.umass.edu
Nomination Committee
Dwight Lingenfelter Chair 814-865-2242 DXL18@psu.edu
Jennifer D'Appollonio Appointed by President 207-460-1272 jennifer.dappollonio@maine.edu
Sali Barolli Selected at business mtg. 860-653-1509 saizba@yahoo.com
Darren Lycan Selected at business mtg. 315-857-4265 darren.lycan@syngenta.com
Michael Flessner Selected at business mtg. 334-750-5783 flessner@vt.edu
Resolutions Committee
Burkhard Schulz Chair, Appointed by President 301-405-1317 bschulz@umd.edu
Katherine Ghantous Appointed by President 508-295-2212 kghantou@umass.edu
Brian Hearn Appointed by President 302-856-7303 bhearn@udel.edu
Collegiate Weed Contest Committee
Shawn Askew Chair 540-231-5807 saskew@vt.edu
Dwight Lingenfelter Current Host 814-865-2242 DXL18@psu.edu
John Grande Host in 2012 908-730-9419 grande@aesop.rutgers.edu
Greg Armel Host in 2011 919-547-2674 gregory.armel@basf.com
Antonio DiTommaso Host in 2010 607-254-4702 ad97@cornell.edu
John Brewer Graduate Student Rep. 931-309-1682 jbrew10@vt.edu
Wes Everman Mentor 919-518-0488 wes_everman@ncsu.edu
Audit Committee
Erin Hitchner Treasurer 609-980-8832 erin.hitchner@syngenta.com
Todd Mervosh 860-502-7765 tmervosh@att.net
Jim Steffel 610-562-5055 jim@labservices.com
Archives Committee
Dan Kunkel Chair 732-932-9575 ext 4616 kunkel@aesop.rutgers.edu
Greg Armel Past President 919-547-2674 gregory.armel@basf.com
Photo Award Committee
Javier Vargas Chair 865-974-7379 jvargas@utk.edu
Erin Hitchner 609-980-8832 erin.hitcher@syngenta.com
Rakesh Chandran 304-293-2603 rschandran@mail.wvu.edu
Art Gover 814-863-9904 aeg2@psu.edu
Victoria Kleczewski 219-208-9499 victoria.a.kleczewski@dupont.com
Hilary Sandler 508-295-2212 ext21 hsandler@umass.edu
Student Paper Awards Committee
Greg Armel Chair 919-547-2674 gregory.armel@basf.com
Dwight Lingenfelter 814-865-2242 dxl18@psu.edu
Antonio DiTommaso 607-254-4702 ad97@cornell.edu
Mark VanGessel 302-856-7303 ext 510 mjv@udel.edu
Hilary Sandler 508-295-2212 ext 21 hsandler@umext.umass.edu
Poster Award Committee
Darren Lycan Chair 315-857-4265 darren.lycan@syngenta.com
Donald Ganske 540-662-6011 donald.d.ganske@USA.DuPont.com
Todd Mervosh 860-502-7765 tmervosh@att.net
Art Gover 814-863-9904 aeg2@psu.edu
Joseph Argentine 609-234-6506 JoeA@amvac-chemical.com
Weed Science Field Days Committee
Bryan Dillehay Research and Education 814-404-2683 bryan.dillehay@monsanto.com
Quintin Johnson Appointed by Pres-Elect (2 yrs) 302-856-2585 ext 513 quintin@udel.edu
Past President’s Committee
Greg Armel Chair 919-547-2674 gregory.armel@basf.com
Dwight Lingenfelter Past President 814-865-2242 dxl18@psu.edu
Herbicide Resistance Plant Committee
Mark VanGessel Chair 302-856-7303 ext 510 mjv@udel.edu
Russ Hahn 607-255-1759 rrh4@cornell.edu
Bill Curran 814-863-1014 wcurran@psu.edu
Dan Kunkel 732-932-9575 x 616 kunkel@aesop.rutgers.edu
Dave Mayonado 410-726-4222 david.j.mayonado@monsanto.com
Endowment Committee
Randy Prostak Chair 413-577-1738 rprostak@umext.umass.edu
Erin Hitchner Treasurer 609-980-8832 erin.hitchner@syngenta.com
Sudeep Mathew Membership Chair 240-772-7514 sudeep.mathew@syngenta.com
Dwight Lingenfelter 814-865-2242 dxl18@psu.edu
Antonio DiTommaso 607-254-4702 ad97@cornell.edu
Mark VanGessel 302-856-7303 mjv@udel.edu
Renee Keese Appointed by President 919-547-2791 renee.keese@basf.com

Sustaining Members 2017

Plantinum
Gold
Silver
Bronze

The sustaining membership fee structure established in 2007 is shown below. All membership levels receive an exhibit table and recognition at the Annual Meeting. The tiered fee structure provides an additional benefit of complimentary conference registration(s) depending on support level.

Level Contribution Conference Registrations Automatic Contribution to Weed Competition
Platinum $2000 2 $1000
Gold $1000 1 $500
Silver $500 none none
Bronze $250 none none

Platinum and Gold sustaining members automatically contribute to the collegiate weed contest. Silver and Bronze members may contribute additional funding for the collegiate weed competition. If you are interested in contributing to the next collegiate weed contest, please contact Wes Everman at 919-518-0488 or wes_everman@ncsu.edu.

Return to top

NEWSS Past Presidents

  • 1948-49     Gilbert H. Ahlgren
  • 1949-50     Robert D. Sweet
  • 1950-51     Howard L. Yowell
  • 1951-52     Stephen M. Raleigh
  • 1952-53     Charles E. Minarik
  • 1953-54     Robert H. Beatty
  • 1954-55     Albin O. Kuhn
  • 1955-56     John Van Geluwe
  • 1956-57     L. Danileson
  • 1957-58     Charles L. Hovey
  • 1958-59     Stanford N. Fertig
  • 1959-60     Gordon Utter
  • 1960-61     E. M. Rahn
  • 1961-62     Lawrence Southwick
  • 1962-63     Donald A. Shallock
  • 1963-64     Anthony J. Tafuro
  • 1964-65     Robert A. Peters
  • 1965-66     Gideon D. Hill
  • 1966-67     Richard D. Ilnicki
  • 1967-68     John E. Gallagher
  • 1968-69     John A. Meade
  • 1969-70     Homer M. Lebaron
  • 1970-71     John F. Ahrens
  • 1971-72     George H. Bayer
  • 1972-73     Arthur Bind
  • 1973-74     Ralph Hansen
  • 1974-75     Walter A. Gentner
  • 1975-76     Henry P. Wilson
  • 1976-77     Richard J. Marrese
  • 1977-78     C. Edward Beste
  • 1978-79     James D. Riggleman
  • 1979-80     James V. Parochetti
  • 1980-81     M. Garry Schnappinger
  • 1981-82     Raymond B. Taylorson
  • 1982-83     Stephan Dennis
  • 1983-84     Thomas L. Watschke
  • 1984-85     James C. Graham
  • 1985-86     Russell R. Hahn
  • 1986-87     Edward R. Higgins
  • 1987-88     Maxwell L. McCormack, Jr
  • 1988-89     Roy R. Johnson
  • 1989-90     Stanley F. Gorski
  • 1990-91     John B. Dobson
  • 1991-92     Prasanta C. Bhowmik
  • 1992-93     Stanley W. Pruss
  • 1993-94     Ronald L. Ritter
  • 1994-95     Wayne G. Wright
  • 1995-96     Bradley A. Majek
  • 1996-97     Thomas E. Vrabel
  • 1997-98     Joseph C. Neal
  • 1998-99     David Vitolo
  • 1999-00     Richard A. Bonanno
  • 2000-01     Brian D. Olson
  • 2001-02     Jeffery Derr
  • 2002-03     David Mayonado
  • 2003-04     D. Scott Glenn
  • 2004-05     Robin Bellinder
  • 2005-06     Timothy E. Dutt
  • 2006-07     William S. Curran
  • 2007-08     Renee Keese
  • 2008-09     Jerry Baron
  • 2009-10     David Yarborough
  • 2010-11     Hilary Sandler
  • 2011-12     Mark VanGessel
  • 2012-13     Antonio DiTommaso
  • 2013-14     Dwight Lingenfelter
  • 2014-15     Gregory Armel
  • 2015-16     Rakesh Chandran
  • 2016-17     Shawn Askew

HISTORY

Return to top